2024 IEEE William Cherry Award will be presented at the 52th IEEE PVSC to Dr. Chris Xixiang Xu. This presentation will take place on Monday, June 10 at 10:00 am.

Dr. Xu is Chief Scientist and Vice President of LONGi’s Central R&D Institute. Dr. Xu is currently leading an R&D team over 500 technical staff members working on multiple PV technologies. He led the team and created 14 world records of Si solar cell efficiency and now holds efficiency records of HJT, HBC and PVSK/HJT tandem cells, which are 26.81%, 27.09% and 33.9%, respectively.

About the Award

This award is named in honor of William R. Cherry, a founder of the photovoltaic community. In the 1950's, he was instrumental in establishing solar cells as the ideal power source for space satellites and for recognizing, advocating, and nurturing the use of photovoltaic systems for terrestrial applications. The William R. Cherry award was instituted in 1980, shortly after his death. The purpose of the award is to recognize an individual engineer or scientist who devoted a part of their professional life to the advancement of the science and technology of photovoltaic energy conversion. The nominee must have made significant contributions to the science and/or technology of PV energy conversion, with dissemination by substantial publications and presentations. Professional society activities, promotional and/or organizational efforts and achievements are not considerations in the election for the award.

Award Package

The award consists of a plaque, monetary award, recognition at the IEEE PVSC Opening Ceremony and a dedicated Cherry Award Talk during the Opening Ceremony.

Rules & Eligibility

  • Nominee must be a scientist or engineer who has made significant contributions to the science and/or technology of PV energy conversion, with dissemination by substantial publications and presentations.
  • Nominee must have had an extended period of activity in PV, contributions to the PVSC, and the expectation of continued activity.  Single outstanding contributions are not sufficient.
  • Professional and/or organizational efforts and achievements are not considerations for this award.
  • Nominees are not required to be members of IEEE or EDS.
  • Nominees from any country and institution are eligible. 
  • Previous recipients of the Cherry Award are not eligible.
  • Self-nominations will not be accepted.
  • Nominations will be carried over for one year.
  • Unsuccessful nominations older than one year will need to be re-submitted.

  • Questions? Contact the Cherry Committee Awards Chair, Thorsten Trupke.



    Thorsten Trupke
    Cherry Award Chair
    University of New South Wales

    Jenny Nelson
    Imperial College London

    Stephen R. Forrest
    University of Michigan,
    Ann Arbor

    Harry Atwater
    California Institute of Technology

    Tim Anderson
    University of Massachusetts,

    Charles Backus
    Arizona State University

    Sheila G. Bailey
    NASA Glenn Research Center

    Allen M. Barnett
    University of New South Wales

    Paul Basore
    PV Specialist Services LLC

    John Benner
    Stanford University

    Henry W. Brandhorst, Jr.
    Auburn University

    Timothy Coutts
    National Renewable Energy Laboratory

    Keith Emery
    National Renewable Energy Laboratory

    Dennis J. Flood
    North Coast Initiatives Ltd.

    Americo F. Forestieri
    MOE Consulting

    Vasilis Fthenakis
    Columbia University

    Alex Freundlich
    University of Houston

    Martin A. Green
    University of New South Wales

    Christiana Honsberg
    Arizona State University

    Seth Hubbard
    Rochester Institute of Technology

    Lawrence L. Kazmerski
    National Renewable Energy Laboratory

    Richard R. King
    Arizona State University

    Sarah Kurtz
    National Renewable Energy Laboratory

    Antonio Luque
    Universidad Politécnica de Madrid

    Sylvain Marsillac
    Old Dominion University

    John D. Meakin
    University of Delaware

    Ryne Raffaelle
    Rochester Institute of Technology

    Eugene Ralph
    PV Consulting

    Angele Reinders
    University of Twente

    Steve Ringel
    Ohio State University

    Angus Rockett
    Colorado School of Mines

    Ajeet Rohatgi
    Georgia Institute of Technology

    Richard Schwartz
    Purdue University

    Ronald A. Sinton
    Sinton Instruments

    James Sites
    Colorado State University

    BJ Stanbery
    Helios Corporation

    Dick Swanson

    Pierre Verlinden
    Trina Solar

    Robert J. Walters
    Naval Research Laboratory

    David Wilt
    U.S. Air Force Research Laboratory

    Eli Yablonovich
    TUniversity of California Berkeley

    Masafumi Yamaguchi
    Toyota Technological Institute

    Previous Recipients

    Dr. Paul Rappaport 1980

    Dr. Joseph L. Loferski 1981

    Prof. Martin Wolf 1982

    Dr. Henry W. Brandhors
    t 1984

    Mr. Eugene L. Ralph

    Dr. Charles E. Backus

    Dr. David E. Carlson 1988

    Dr. Martin A. Green 1990

    Mr. Peter A. Iles 1991

    Dr. Lawrence L. Kazmerski 1993

    Prof. Yoshihiro Hamakawa

    Dr. Allen M. Barnett

    Dr. Adolf Goetzberger

    Dr. Richard J. Schwartz 1998

    Dr. Christopher R. Wronski 2000

    Dr. Richard M. Swanson 2002

    Dr. Ajeet Rohatgi 2003

    Dr. Timothy J. Coutts 2005

    Dr. Antonio Luque 2006

    Dr. Masafumi Yamaguchi

    Dr. Stuart Wenham 2009

    Dr. Richard R. King 2010

    Dr. Jerry M. Olson 2011

    Dr. Sarah Kurtz 2012

    Dr. Keith Emery 2013

    Dr. Ronald A. Sinton 2014

    Dr. Christiana Honsberg 2015

    Dr. Pierre Verlinden 2016

    Prof. Eli Yablonovitch 2017

    Prof. Vasilis Fthenakis 2018

    Dr. Harry Atwater 2019

    Prof. James Sites 2020

    Prof. Thorsten Trupke 2021

    Prof. Stephen R. Forrest 2022

    Prof. Jenny Nelson 2023