Area 2: Marika Edoff, Uppsala University, Sweden

Dr. Marika Edoff is a professor in Solid State Electronics and head of the Solar Cell Technology Division at the Department of Material Science and Engineering at Uppsala University, Sweden. She has been working in the CIGS research field since she began as a PhD student in 1991.

Area 3: Anna Fontcuberta i Morral, École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, Switzerland

Dr. Anna Fontcuberta i Morral is a professor at EPFL, Switzerland. Her research interests concern novel materials and structures for next generation quantum technology and energy harvesting technologies.

Title: Compound Semiconductor Nanostructures: Synthesis & Sustainability Aspects

Abstract: Some compound semiconductors such as InGaAsP and GaAs are known to exhibit a high absorption coefficient in the photon energy of interest for solar energy conversion. Their commercial potential in terrestrial applications is reduced due to the scarcity and high cost of extraction of group III elements such as In and Ga. In this talk we present two paths to enable the use of compound semiconductors sustainable: (i) a strong reduction in material utilization by nanostructures design and (ii) the replacement of group III by group II such as zinc. The Zn-V compound semiconductor family exists in a variety of stoichiometries such as ZnP2, Zn3P2 and Zn3As2. Also, in this case we find nanostructures also provide a path to increase light collection [1]. We demonstrate how II-V compounds such as Zn3P2 exhibit one magnitude higher absorption coefficient than GaAs [2]. We explain how these materials can be fabricated with high crystal quality, opening the path for the creation of alternative and sustainable compound semiconductor solar cells [3-5].
[1] P. Krogstrup et al Nature Photon 7, 306 (2013)
[2] M.Y. Swinkels et al Phys. Rev. Appl. 14, 024045 (2020)
[3] S. Escobar Steinvall et al Nanoscale Horizons 5, 274-282 (2020)
[4] R. Paul et al, Crys. Growth. Des. 20, 3816–3825 (2020)
[5] S. Escobar Steinvall Nanoscale Advances, DOI: 10.1039/D0NA00841A (2020)

Area 5: Joseph Berry, National Renewable Energy Laboratory, USA

Area 6: Laura Miranda Perez, Oxford Photovoltaics, UK

Dr. Laura Miranda Perez is been heading the materials and characterisation department at Oxford Photovoltaics since 2015. With more than 15 years of experience on perovskite materials, Laura’s expertise covers a broad range of materials and processes together with strong fundamental understanding on complex systems.

Area 8: Professor Alison Lennon, University of New South Wales, Australia

Area 11: Xiaoting Wang, BloombergNEF, USA

Dr. Xiaoting Wang joined BloombergNEF in 2012, currently conducting research as an energy specialist focusing on solar technology. Her routine research scope covers shifts in crystalline silicon module technology, perovskites, innovation in PV project design, construction, and maintenance. Xiaoting’s recent research topics have included integrated design of co-located PV and storage systems, and the economics of making hydrogen from renewables.