PVSC Awards

IEEE Stuart R. Wenham Young Professional Award Winner

Zachary Holman will receive the Young Professional Award at PVSC 46.

Zachary Holman is an Assistant Professor in the School of Electrical, Computer, and Energy Engineering at Arizona State University. He received his Ph.D. in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Minnesota for his work on plasma-synthesized silicon and germanium nanocrystals, after which he spent two years as a postdoctoral researcher understanding losses in silicon heterojunction solar cells at Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne in Switzerland. His research group at ASU focuses on new materials, processes, and device designs for high-efficiency silicon solar cells and silicon-based tandem solar cells. He has been named a Moore Inventor Fellow, Trustees of ASU Professor, Fulton Entrepreneurial Professor, and Joseph C. Palais Distinguished Faculty Scholar, and he is the co-founder of an advanced materials start-up company, Swift Coat.

Prof. Holman will deliver an invited oral presentation on Thursday, June 20 at 1:30 PM in the Area 4 session: Advancements in Silicon Heterojunction Solar Cells (Sheraton 4-5).

About the Award

The IEEE Stuart R. Wenham Young Professional Award recognizes individuals who have made significant contributions to the science and technology of photovoltaic energy conversion, including work on PV materials, devices, modules, and/or systems. The award recipient must also show significant promise as a leader in the field. An award is given annually at the PVSC. The award was recently renamed in honor of Stuart Wenham, in recognition of his profound contributions to photovoltaics, and in memory of his great scholarship and friendship.

Award Package

The award consists of a $2000 monetary award, complimentary conference registration, plaque, and recognition at the PVSC Opening Ceremony. In addition, the awardee will give an honorary 30-minute talk during a regular session of the conference, in conjunction with his/her respective technical area.

Rules & Eligibility

  • Nominee must be a young scientist or engineer who has made significant contributions to photovoltaic energy conversion, including work on PV materials, devices, modules, and/or systems.
  • Nominee must have received their first post-secondary degree (Bachelor’s level) within the past 15 years, relative to the nomination deadline.
  • Nominees are not required to be members of IEEE or EDS. 
  • Nominees from any country and institution are eligible. 
  • Nominees are expected to have prior contributions to the PVSC. 
  • Previous recipients of the Young Professional Award are not eligible.
  • Self-nominations will not be accepted.
  • Nominations will not automatically roll over to subsequent years, but nominators are allowed to re-submit nominations, provided the nominee is still eligible. Supplements to the original nomination are permitted, and should reflect the nominee’s latest work. 
  • Members of the awards subcommittee in charge of selection are eligible to be nominated, and can nominate colleagues, but would recuse themselves of subcommittee duties in either case.
  • The award must be received by the winner in person at the PVSC; no award will be made in absentia, except under extraordinary circumstances, as determined by the conference chair.

Nomination Package Requirements

  • Completed and Signed Nomination Summary Form (2 pages)
  • Nominator Statement (2 page limit) supporting the nominee’s suitability for the award with respect to:
    • innovative and creative nature of the nominee’s work
    • significance of the nominee’s work with respect to the broader PV community
    • previous contributions to the PVSC 
    • potential shown as a future leader in the PV community 
  • Nominee Curriculum vitae (2 page limit)
  • List of nominee’s key publications and patents (1 page limit)
  • Up to 3 letters of endorsement from individuals familiar with the nominee’s qualifications and area of research. Each letter may be up to 1 page long and should make reference to specific qualifications that make the nominee best-suited for the award. Each letter should be on letterhead and include the signature of the endorser. 
  • Entire nomination package should be assembled as a single PDF document (10 pages, maximum) in the following order: 
    • Nomination Summary Form (2 pages) 
    • Nominator Statement (2 page limit) 
    • Curriculum Vitae (2 page limit)
    • List of nominee’s key publications, patents, and/or other technical literature (1 page limit)
    • Letters of support (up to 3, each letter 1 page limit)

Please submit the nomination packet by January 31, 2019 via email to [email protected].

Questions? Contact the Awards Chair [email protected]

Previous Recipients

Adele Tamboli, 2018

Weiwei Deng, 2017

Bram Hoex, 2016

Henry Snaith, 2015

Oliver Schultz-Wittman, 2014