PVSC Awards

William R. Cherry Award


Dr. Pierre Verlinden, Chief  Scientist and Vice-President of Trina Solar, will receive the William Cherry Award in recognition of his long and distinguished career at the forefront of PV technology and commercialization, for leading technology advances including the interdigitated back contact (IBC) cell, mono- and multicrystalline PERC silicon solar cells and multijunction III-V dense array technology for CPV application, and for his overall leadership of key R&D organizations throughout his career. Dr. Verlinden is currently Vice-Chair of the State Key Laboratory of PV Science and Technology, Changzhou, China, as well as adjunct Professor at Sun Yat-sen University, Guangzhou, China.  
He has been involved with high-efficiency PV technologies for more than 35 years, first as an early developer of IBC silicon solar cells from 1979, at the University of Louvain, Belgium, and Stanford University, California. He continued his pioneer work on IBC solar cell development for CPV and one-sun applications as Director of R&D at SunPower until 2001. After a short stay at Origin Energy Solar, Australia, to build a pilot line for the Sliver cell, he founded AMROCK and helped many other companies and research centers to develop advanced PV technologies, including multijunction III-V dense arrays for reflective CPV systems at Solar Systems, Australia. In early 2012, Dr. Verlinden joined Trina Solar in Changzhou, China, where, marrying western-style and Chinese-style R&D, he transformed the State Key Laboratory of PV Science and Technology into one of the most advanced research centers in photovoltaics. He has been associated with several efficiency world records during his long career dedicated to photovoltaics.

Dr. Verlinden will deliver his Cherry Award acceptance talk on Monday June 6 during the Conference Opening Keynote Session.


Nomination Deadline: February 10, 2016


About the Award

This award is named in honor of William R. Cherry, a founder of the photovoltaic community. In the 1950's, he was instrumental in establishing solar cells as the ideal power source for space satellites and for recognizing, advocating, and nurturing the use of photovoltaic systems for terrestrial applications. The William R. Cherry award was instituted in l980, shortly after his death. The purpose of the award is to recognize an individual engineer or scientist who devoted a part of their professional life to the advancement of the science and technology of photovoltaic energy conversion. The nominee must have made significant contributions to the science and/or technology of PV energy conversion, with dissemination by substantial publications and presentations. Professional society activities, promotional and/or organizational efforts and achievements are not considerations in the election for the award.

Award Package

The award consists of a plaque, monetary award, recognition at the PVSC Opening Ceremony and a dedicated Cherry Award Talk during the Opening Ceremony. In addition, a reception is held in honor of the Cherry Award winner during the PVSC.

Rules & Eligibility

  • Nominee must be a scientist or engineer who has made significant contributions to the science and/or technology of PV energy conversion, with dissemination by substantial publications and presentations.
  • Nominees are not required to be members of IEEE or EDS.
  • Nominees from any country and institution are eligible.
  • Nominees are expected to have prior contributions to the PVSC.
  • Previous recipients of the Cherry Award are not eligible.
  • Self-nominations will not be accepted.
  • A nomination will remain active for 3 award cycles, after which a new nomination may be submitted.

Nomination Package Requirements

  • Complete Electronic Nomination Form with name of nominee, and his/her current affiliation and contact information.
  • Nominator's name, address, phone number and e-mail address.
  • A rationale (less than 150 words) of the nominee's contributions to the advancement of the PV field.
  • A citation (less that 40 words) listing the nominee's specific contributions to make them deserving of the award.
  • A list of the nominee's activities in the field.
  • A current CV for the nominee.

Questions? Contact the Cherry Committee Awards Chair [email protected]



Richard R. King,
Cherry Committee Chair
Arizona State University

Keith Emery,
Cherry Award Chair
National Renewable Energy Laboratory

Tim Anderson
University of Massachusetts, Amherst

Sheila G. Bailey
NASA Glenn Research Center

Allen M. Barnett
University of New South Wales

Paul Basore
PV Specialist Services LLC

John Benner
Stanford University

Henry W. Brandhorst, Jr.
Auburn University

David E. Carlson
BP Solar

Timothy Coutts
National Renewable Energy Laboratory

Dennis J. Flood
North Coast Initiatives Ltd.

Americo F. Forestieri
MOE Consulting

Martin A. Green
University of New South Wales

Christiana Honsberg
Arizona State University

Lawrence L. Kazmerski
National Renewable Energy Laboratory

Sarah Kurtz
National Renewable Energy Laboratory

John D. Meakin
University of Delaware

Ryne Raffaelle
Rochester Institute of Technology

Eugene Ralph
PV Consulting

Steve Ringel
Ohio State University

Ajeet Rohatgi
Georgia Institute of Technology

Ronald A. Sinton
Sinton Instruments

BJ Stanbery
Helios Corporation

Robert J. Walters
Naval Research Laboratory

Stuart Wenham
University of New South Wales

David Wilt
Cherry Award Co-Chair
U.S. Air Force Research Laboratory

Christopher R. Wronski
Pennsylvania State University

Masafumi Yamaguchi
Toyota Technological Institute

Previous Recipients

Dr. Paul Rappaport 1980

Dr. Joseph L. Loferski 1981

Prof. Martin Wolf 1982

Dr. Henry W. Brandhors
t 1984

Mr. Eugene L. Ralph

Dr. Charles E. Backus

Dr. David E. Carlson 1988

Dr. Martin A. Green 1990

Mr. Peter A. Iles 1991

Dr. Lawrence L. Kazmerski 1993

Prof. Yoshihiro Hamakawa

Dr. Allen M. Barnett

Dr. Adolf Goetzberger

Dr. Richard J. Schwartz 1998

Dr. Christopher R. Wronski 2000

Dr. Richard M. Swanson 2002

Dr. Ajeet Rohatgi 2003

Dr. Timothy J. Coutts 2005

Dr. Antonio Luque

Dr. Masafumi Yamaguchi

Dr. Stuart Wenham 2009

Dr. Richard R. King 2010

Dr. Jerry M. Olson 2011

Dr. Sarah Kurtz 2012

Dr. Keith Emery 2013

Dr. Ronald A. Sinton 2014

Dr. Christiana Honsberg 2015

PVSC Awards

Latest News

Technical Sponsors

Media Partners